Cecile Wimberley

Cecile Wimberley


The Outstanding Junior Member Contest, begun in 1963, honors young women who have truly promoted the goals and purposes of the National Society, and have participated in community activities. Chapters honor a junior member by nomination to Chapter Outstanding Junior.

Cecile Wimberley, now of the Long Island Chapter, was named 2010 Tennessee State Outstanding Junior during the 105th State Conference. Mrs. Wimberley currently holds the position of Tennessee Society State Regent. She has served as a page at the state and national level, as chairman of both state and national committees, and as Tennessee Society State Corresponding Secretary and Tennessee State Society First Vice Regent. In chapters she has served as Regent and has held many committee chairmanships.

A wife and mother, Mrs. Wimberley has devoted countless hours to community volunteer work. She has a BA from Lipscomb University and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Tennessee. She automatically competed in the national level contest and was honored during Continental Congress as a National Finalist in the NSDAR Outstanding Junior Member Contest.

The Tennessee Society has established the Molly Stewart Fund which provides a monetary award to the State Outstanding Junior to help defray the expense of travel and lodging for her trip to Continental Congress in Washington, DC, the year of her award.

Tennessee Outstanding Juniors

1963 Margaret Beets

1964 Patricia Sue Stovall

1965  Mary Belle Purvis – National Outstanding Junior

1966  Jo Ann Kimsey

1967 Kitty B. Frank

1968 Bonnie DeHoff

1969 Margaret W. Terrell

1970 Jennie Jo Hardison Harris

1971 Lady Grace LeBaron Sandefur – Southeastern Division Winner

1972 Ellen Seeley – Southeastern Division Winner

1973 Gladys McCallie Davis

1974 Ruth Evelyn Townsend – Southeastern Division Winner

1975 Margaret W. Terrell – National Outstanding Junior

1976 Linda Tinker Watkins

1977 Trecia McDaniel Robertson Hayes

1978 Barbara Buchanan Parsons

1979 Jacqueline Payne Garbarino

1980 Nancy Jean Tuten Jones

1981 Jane Gray Sowell – National Outstanding Junior

1982 Nancy Hemmrich

1983 Nancy Lampson O’Neil

1984 Jonetta Smith Vise

1986 Vivan Wurzburg Sanders

1987 Deborah Parker

1988 Patricia C. Anderson

1989 Diana Oliver Anderson – Southeastern Division Winner

1990 Elizabeth Wade King

1991 Jean Carol Garrett – Southeastern Division Winner

1994 Nancy Carol Reynolds Teeters

1996 Kathleen Marjorie Short

1997 Myra Jane Norwood

1999 April Watkins Barrett

2000 Cynthia Lynn Parker James

2001 Roberta Cecile Wimberley

2003 Nancy Carol Reynolds Teeters

2004 Elizabeth McDaniel

2005 Tabitha A. Myers

2006 Patricia Lynn Speich

2007 Natalie Payne

2008 Cynthia Lynn Parker James – National Finalist

2009 Christina M. Isbell

2010 Roberta Cecile Wimberley – National Finalist

2012 Meegan R. Burton

2013 Grace A. McLeod – National Finalist

2014 Natalie Blackwell

2015 Jessica “Raz” Mines Dumitru

2016 Summer Morris