The members of the Old Reynoldsburgh Chapter 
Tennessee Society Daughters of the American Revolution
welcome you to their home on the Web.

We are located in Waverly, Tennessee

We would love to talk to you about becoming a member of the Society.

If you would like more information on the DAR please email our chapter contact person
Old Reynoldsburgh Chapter Contact


Our Chapter History

The Old Reynoldsburgh Chapter was organized in Waverly, Tennessee, on February 1, 1971, with twenty-four organizing and charter members.  Mrs. Howard Foster was the organizing regent. The chapter was named in honor of the first Court House serving Humphreys and Benton counties.

Reynoldsburgh was a seat of government for both sides of the Tennessee River.  The tract of land on which Old Johnsonville and Reynoldsburgh were located was issued to Captain John F. Brevard in a land grant from North Carolina in 1786.  The Old Indian Trace, later called the Old Stage Road, crossed from Middle Tennessee into the Western District of Tennessee at this place, thus giving Trace Creek its name.  Trace Creek heads northeast of McEwen and follows the Old Stage Road to Old Johnsonville and to the river crossing.  It was at this crossroad that the first Court House was built.

On October 7, 1812, John R. Brevard deeded to the county 52 1/2 acres of land facing the Tennessee River for the county seat which was to be called Reynoldsburgh, in honor of his father.

Chapter Meetings

The Old Reynoldsburgh Chapter meets on the fourth Monday of the month from September to May.

Our Patriot Ancestors

Patriot State of Service
John Baldwin MD
Gideon Beaman MA
John Bell SC
James Brigham VA, NC
Aaron Bledsoe NC
George Boyd VA
Thomas Caldwell VA - NC
Thomas Cheesman NY
Alexander Chestnut SC
Jacob Chestnut NC
John Clark Jr. MA
John Colwell NC
James Cooley NC
Cornelius Cosine PA
Robert Cowden NC
John Duckworth NC
Enoch Enoch PA - VA
Stephen Easley VA
Joseph Fogg VA
Isham Fuqua VA
Thomas Gould PA
Nathaniel Guerin NJ
John Hall, Sr. CT
Geroge Hargrave NC
Levi Holden MA
Zebulon Hollingsworth NC
Israel Hollister CT
Aaron James PA
James Lewis NC
Thomas Lewis NC
William Lewis VA
David Long NC - SC
Edmund Matthews NC
Isaac Morrill NY
Peter Munson CT
Elexious Musick VA
William Plummer VA
Jacob Powelson NJ
Marten Powelson NJ
Joseph Prior VA
Elisha Purdy NY
Baxter Ragsdale NC - VA
Samuel Ranger MA
George Ridley VA - NC
John Rucker VA
Joseph Scott NC
John Snow NH
John Spell NC
Douwe Harmonsen Tallman NJ
John Terry VA
William Thaxton VA
James Thomas SC
James Thompson NC
John Turner VA
William Turner NC
James Westervelt NY
Thomas Whitfield VA
Thomas Whittemore MA
James Williams MD - PA
Peter Wiltse NY
Davis Yarborough NC

Visit the TSDAR homepage

Visit the National Society homepage


The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by, the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.

Site by Stephanie Bohrman, River City Chapter