Tennessee’s first chapter was organized on December 18, 1892, in Memphis.  Within five years, an additional fourteen chapters were organized.

The growth of the Society in Tennessee reached such proportions by 1935 that it was decided to divide the state into five districts: Appalachian, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Cumberland, and Sequoyah. The Indian names were selected to designate the part of the state in which the districts were located.

Today, the Tennessee State Society has about 100 chapters and almost 6,000 members.  The hard work of Tennessee chapters is shown by the many national awards received each year through committee work done at the local level in cities, towns and communities across the state.

Locate a Chapter

If you wish to visit a chapter, email the Prospective Member Coordinator. DAR is a vibrant and thriving organization and we welcome you to join us!