DAR Logo

Chief Piomingo Chapter History

Chief Piomingo Chapter, Collierville, Tennessee, was organized on December 13, 1991.

Discussion began in October of 1991 to form a primary NSDAR chapter in Collierville, Tennessee.  With the recommendation of Mrs. Victor Edgman, Tennessee Society Daughters of the American Revolution State Regent, Mrs. James Chaffin was selected as the Organizing Regent and confirmed by the National Board of Management of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution.

Twelve women met on November 7, 1991, in the home of Mrs. William Owens to discuss goals and to make plans.  It was decided that a monthly meeting would be held and a tentative slate of officers was elected to assist Mrs. Chaffin.  Mrs. Carl Sharp was elected Vice Regent; Mrs. Williams Owens, Chaplain; Mrs. Paul Johnson, Secretary; Mrs. Roger Finnern, Treasurer, and Mrs. Jerry Gee, Registrar.

On December 5, 1991, the group met in the home of Mrs. Gee.  At that time Mrs. Chaffin announced that the next meeting of the National Board of Management, NSDAR would be held on December 13, 1991.  The chapter was accepted by the National Society on December 13, 1991, with 16 members.

Chief Piomingo 2019-2022 Chapter Officers

               Kristen Bisanz, Regent.
               Sheila Powell, Chaplain
               Sharon Ritz,Treasurer
               Debra Nimtz, Parliamentarian
                   Lisa Junkins, First Vice Regent
                Nancy Walczyk, Recording Secretary
                Carla Maitland, Registrar.
                  Kara Meredith, Second Vice Regent
                Wanda Day, Corresponding Secretary
                Josie Walker, Historian

Chief Piomingo Organizing Members

Judy Chaffin (Mrs. James)
Sue Johnson (Mrs. Paul)
Carole Owens (Mrs. William)
Melanie Sharp (Mrs. Carl)
Shirley Gee (Mrs. Jerry)
Judie Moore (Mrs. David)
Laura Patterson (Mrs. Rick)
Jean Tindall (Mrs. John)
Julia Johnson (Mrs. Kenneth)
Kay Nahser (Mrs. Francis)
Reese Moses Scallions (Mrs. Joy)
Marilyn White (Mrs. Henry)